>Little Jack Horner …. Hummus & Lavash, Sante Bandra

>After my experiments with feta and couscous my thoughts turned to something else that I thought to be a good alternative for office lunch. Hummus and Pita bread. I am fairly fond of this combo as I find it to be light and non taxing. Ideal for lunch at work.

My favourite place for Hummus and P is Maroosh at Carter Road. Love their chicken shwarma too, The Falafel chain is another decent option. Problem is that neither is close to where I work.

Then I got the idea of picking the Hummus (Rs 55, 1 USD) which the folks at Sante make. They didn’t have pita bread so I picked wholewheat lavash (Rs 50/ 1 USD). Milanda of Sante suggested that I freeze the hummus for a short while in the morning before leaving for work.

Turned out the be a nice lunch option. The hummus was thicker in texture than at Maroosh. Less Olive Oil perhaps. Overall it was light and creamy. Stayed fairly well overnight. Turned out to be a good option, just as I imagined. Did get a bit monotonous for the last few bites though. Slightly more than what one person can eat. The Lavash was fairly tasty. Finished half the pack. Munched on the rest when hungry. It didn’t have paprika or chopped olives which a Maroosh puts. Possible because its pre-packed.

Sunayana made some interesting suggestions on the Finely Chopped Facebook page. Will try that next time. Good to have discovered another nice lunch option for work.

Sunayana Sarkar: (Couscous) my favourite… you are on a Mediterranean roll for lunch these days..
Try throwing roasted red pepper with hummus in the processor… you get a kick.
For healthier version, I add Greek yoghurt instead of tahini.
Drizzle a bit of cumin and sesame or olive oil on top for dip with pita… or celery or baby carrots (for healthier choice)
Also you this is a spread for the cucumber, tomato, etc sandwich.


Tuesday at 19:36 · ·

8 Comments

Filed under Bandra Bites, Lebanese, Office lunch options

8 responses to “>Little Jack Horner …. Hummus & Lavash, Sante Bandra

  1. >surprisingly i havent explored sante. my trips begin and end at Mark's. will try them one of these days.

  2. >Kalyan: your posts always make me feel hungry for whatever you have had and at the same time nostalgic for adda. i think there is something in the way you write that brings back memories of friends sitting around and having jolly good time. the fuchka post was good with photos, et al. the scene comes alive with your narrative.aajkaal bangalore-e – there are quite a few UPite and Bihari Fuchkawalla who sells quite authentic Fuchkas and interestlingy, right next to them are paan shops run by their deshwali bhaiyas. I enjoy both the Fuchkas and small talk with them about general politics, state of the country and knowing more about them. thanks for the touch that you bring in.

  3. >@Mumbai Diva, some of my recent posts sounds like FC has been bought over by Sante. Truth is, I am in love :)@Sharbori, thanks so much. I love stories about food more than just food itself. Glad that worked for you. For some reason Blr is more Bangali friendly. The K C Das influence?

  4. >Try making your own hummus, it's easy and so much better than any store bought version

  5. >hummus with pita chips is also a deadly combination! the fresh made at home is even better..my friend is an egyptian she ..usually gives me that!!!..but for $ its good price!

  6. >Grinding roasted red pepper with hummus in the grinder will make it taste similar to what we had at PVC, I guess. Their hummus was fairly nice.PS: I love Sante too and guess why! 😉 But you know what, though I loved their brownie cheesecake, I felt it would taste better if they made it 50% brownie & 50% cheesecake. Or a slightly thicker mid-section of cheesecake sandwiched between relatively thinner layers of brownie. The layer of chocolate they have on top gives it a very chocolatey taste. The cheesecake gets lost. Just my personal opinion. But thank you SO MUCH for getting it for us!

  7. >@Simran, Harman… any recipes@Scarlett… will pass on your feedback to them . After all you are a cheesecake lover whose 'brownie craving' too

  8. >Très bon site. Je vous remercie du travail en Juillet.

Leave a Reply

